Annie Jones Driver Excellence Award


To recognize drivers of older adults and the disabled who best exemplify our commitment to courteous and respectful service, My Ride Dallas presents its Annie Jones Driver Excellence Award annually. The community-based award celebrates drivers who go above and beyond to make riders feel safe, comfortable and valued. It’s an opportunity for riders to nominate the drivers who make a difference in their lives.

Annie Jones has been a force to be reckoned with on transportation issues since 1984. Jones chained her wheelchair to a Greyhound bus to protest the lack of support people with disabilities received from public transportation. At that time, neither Greyhound buses nor Dallas Transit buses were wheelchair accessible. Thanks to the efforts of activists like Annie Jones, attention is being given to the transportation needs of older adults and people with disabilities. We take great pride in naming our award in honor of her dedicated work.

Nominate your favorite driver here!

Annie Jones Driver Excellence Award Winners

2019- Gregory Smith, Caring at Home

2018- Keith Hunt, Forget Me Not Transportation

2017- Sherry Moss, DART Paratransit

2016- Melvin Neville, Parkland’s Bluitt-Flowers Health Center

2015- Steven Branton, STAR Transit

2014- Vanessa Buchanan, Graci-N-Merci Transportation-N-Courteous Services

2013- Louis Gonzalez, Dallas Area Rapid Transit